A trip down memory lane

One of my most visceral memories from my youth is my first baseball glove. I can remember vividly the smell of it. I also remember the original color of it, before it darkened with use. Most of all, I remember the feel of the leather. It was soft but seemed rugged at the same time.

I have fond memories of breaking in my new glove with my dad. I had friends who put their gloves under the sofa cushions or baked them in the oven. We opted for oiling it up, putting a baseball into it, and putting it under some books. That did the trick, as that glove got me through tee-ball and Little League.

In thinking back about baseball and my father, that glove stands out. He had taken me to buy it at the sporting goods store, helped me pick it out and then guided me through the breaking-in process. He then taught me how to use it, and he and I would play catch countless times with that glove over the years.

heritagebaseballwalletThose are the things that I pictured when I first saw Coach’s Heritage Baseball Double Billfold. Made from actual glove-tanned leather, it looks and feels just like that familiar mitt. It’s a visit to the past for Coach as well. The company was inspired originally by the national pastime when it was founded back in 1941.

I wanted to get my dad something for Father’s Day that not only would mean something to him, but also to me. What better than a billfold, where fond memories would flood over him whenever and wherever he used it.

Leave a Reply

